Kershaw County Economic Development Office | 80 Campus Dr. | P.O. Box 763 Camden, SC 29021 | Tel: 803-425-7685 | Fax: 803-425-7687 |

Kershaw County named All-America City

June 26, 2018

Lauren Reeder, Public Information Officer
Kershaw County

Cate Goff, Media Relations
PLAY Foundation

Kershaw County, SC – Kershaw County has been named a 2018 All-America City by the National Civic League at its annual awards ceremony in Denver, Colorado. Twenty finalists were selected to provide a community presentation to the panel of award judges. Following the presentations, Kershaw County was chosen as one of the ten award winners. The National Civic League cited “Kershaw County embraces the changing faces of its rapidly growing community, balancing its rural past and suburban future, with its business owners, residents, and elected officials reflecting that diversity and building programs to ensure equity in healthcare, education, and economic growth.” Doug Linkhart, President of The National Civic League stated, “each winner leveraged civic engagement, inclusiveness, and innovation to successfully address challenges facing their community.”

Kershaw County’s Clinton Washington was recognized for his community commitment as he received the “2018 Youth Leadership Award.” With help from Johnny Deal, the County also received the “Social Media Award” for its exceptional social media presence and activities.

The Kershaw County delegation was comprised of leaders from all areas of the county including state, county and municipal elected officials, civic organization leaders, healthcare professionals, and area youth leaders.

Sophia Alteri
Caroline Anderson
Chairman Julian Burns, Kershaw County Council
Jaelen Bussey
Elizabeth Carpenter
Laurey Carpenter
Vic Carpenter
Michael Conley
Johnny Deal
Kimberly Dixon
Richard Dixon, Jr.
Mayor Alfred Mae Drakeford, City of Camden
Mayor Melissa Emmons, Town of Elgin
Amy Eudy
Representative Laurie Slade Funderburk, State of South Carolina
Ed Garrison
Evelyn Gibson
George Gibson
Cate Goff
Tyler Hampton
Kathryn Johnson
Roberta Langley
Gina Marthers
Jerry Marthers
Brian Mayes
Laurie Parks
Daniel Putnam
Julie Putnam
Shawn Putnam
Merri Seigler
Katherine Spadacenta
Vice Chairman Sammie Tucker, Jr., Kershaw County Council
Clinton Washington
Susan Witkowski



Add Page

As you navigate our website, you can use the “Add Page to Report” button add any page or property to a custom report that you can print out or save.

Industrial Properties Interactive Maps Workforce and Demographics

"Since its inception, readySC has been a key component of South Carolina's economic development efforts and is recognized nationally as the premier program of its kind. Over the years, the level and complexity of skills required by companies have changed, but readySC's overall goal has remained constant. We make certain our client organizations - large or small - have the right people with the right knowledge, skills, and abilities in place at the right time for a quick and successful start-up or expansion. Our strategy works. Over the past 50 years, readySC has trained more than 280,000 South Carolinians for jobs in our state for over 2,000 different companies."
-- Jim Shrift - readySC Area Director